Let’s talk about prevention…

I read a phenomenal article about climate change and why it is so important that we invest in nature. The author, Mark Tercek “makes the case for nature” by stating that not only does investing in nature benefit the environment, it actually also benefits the economy! I’m always perusing articles to do with climate change and nature, so I was really interested in reading about how caring about nature can benefit the economy. My boyfriend works in finance, and though he cares about the state of nature, as far as I know, he wasn’t aware of how investing in nature benefits the economy. Taken directly from Mark Tercek’s article, “…we’ve found that planting a new forest can be a cost-effective strategy for businesses to comply with air quality requirements. Or, investing in watershed conservation upstream can improve water quality and reduce treatment costs for beverage companies and utilities. Or, improving natural infrastructure like rain gardens, porous pavement, and artificial wetlands can help cities address storm water runoff—a leading cause of water pollution.” I think that’s amazing! Talking and presenting evidence to global economic leaders (such as JP Morgan, Goldman Sachs, Amazon etc.) is important because if we can get them on board, we are one step closer to really making noise and capturing the attention of world leaders. Mark Tercek urges us to “join the voices of businesses around the world calling for smart climate policy, including a price on carbon.”

That’s all good and very well, but if you’re like me, you’re may be scrolling through the article thinking, “That’s great, but I’m not a business leader in any way, shape, or form… what can I do?” I could probably write down a list of ten things that you can do right now that will impact the Earth, but I’ll stick with what Mark Tercek says for now; “Connect young people with nature.Take kids outside. Teach them about why it’s so important to protect the lands and waters that sustain us. Help them begin building a conservation ethic.” Being a teacher, I’m thrilled about how my position enables me to have such a significant impact on young children. Start young! Think about it: prevention is key. It’s better to prevent problems rather than have to deal with the problems after they start. (It’s much more cost effective too, Mr. Business Leader…) It’s crucial that I interest young children in respecting, caring and advocating for the environment. Make it a habit while children are young so that when they’re older, they won’t think twice about it.

Here’s the article. Well worth a read: https://blog.nature.org/conservancy/2017/07/21/insuring-nature-ensuring-resilience/

P.S. I don’t have the energy to really throw myself into detail about this one thought I have here but: climate change and caring for the environment should not be a “political party” issue. You know what I mean? It shouldn’t be Republicans fighting what Democrats are trying to push, or the other way around. We should ALL be in agreement that our climate is in trouble, and that if we don’t do something NOW, we and our children will be paying dearly. It’s ridiculous that we are spending our Earth’s precious time fighting. Anyway…

Leave a Reply

